Cavalli’s Charm

cavalli buttons

Gracing an iconic early 1970s jacket I found the most unique detail I have ever seen on a vintage Roberto Cavalli creation.
In case you didn’t know, the great Cavalli rose to fame in the late 1960s through his innovation in textile printing.  I read once that after art school where he developed his techniques he actually sat on the streets of Paris with a sewing machine patchworking his printed  leathers to denim, creating art as well as a sensation that quickly spread all over the world.
I have had the pleasure of knowing several early Cavalli works, and each had its own unique wonderfulness.  This one that I recently acquired is unique in its exquisite patchwork pattern and printed leathers and textiles… but those handmade enamel snap covers (buttons) just really sent me to the moon! Nowadays I expect jewelry on modern Cavalli creations, but on a vintage piece, I have never seen such elaborate finishings.

Leave a Reply

